Front Street Pumping Station
     Front Street   

Front Street Pumping Station, Cincinnati

Front street (now Eastern Ave. aka, Riverside Drive) pumping station pumps were originally operated by horses or oxen working a circular treadmill and later upgraded to steam.  The original machinery, buildings, pipes, and reservoirs were all constructed of wood. The reservoir was 30 x 40 feet in size and six feet deep, with sides and bottom lined with oak timber. The pipes consisted of logs ten inches in diameter and twelve feet in length, with a two-and-a-half-inch hole bored through them and banded with iron hoops. In 1890, three auxiliary stations mounted on inclines could be lowered to water during periods of drought.